Cheese Of The Month–Brie

Ah Paris!  Some really great memories of that famous city….most notable the love affair I had with a gorgeous red head named Charlotte….I wish I could say more but this blog is G rated and I would like to keep it that way….

The second most memorable event in Paris was my introduction to Brie……a marvelous cheese….let say it is almost orgasmic when you get a good one…..

Brie is a creamy cow’s milk cheese named for the region in north-central France where it was first created. The cheese typically comes in a wheel, or round, and is protected by a thick, white rind. While the rind is edible, most cheese connoisseurs are more interested in the creamy center. The cheese will hold its shape if cut into wedges or slices, but is easily spreadable. Its neutral flavor makes it an excellent complement to fruits, nuts, and any number of different sweet or savory foods.

My favorite is a double cream brie……..and the best brie is from real milk not that pasteurized stuff, blue john, that kills all the taste……..talking about taste ….ever try Normandy butter?  (that is a post for another day)

I have a couple of quick recipes that brie are amazing as an ingredient…….the first one I will contradict myself……what?…..I wrote a post bad mouthing the use of planks in cooking…..but there is one place that I will use them….on the grill……..to heat brie on a grill is about the only use I can think of that is acceptable…….

Chuq’s Brie Surprise

Pre-heat grill to medium high (350 deg).  Place cedar plank on grill, after soak in water as per directions, Grill, covered for 2 minutes then turn plank and grill for another 2 minutes.

Grape Relish

Ingredients:

2 lg clusters of grapes (I prefer red seedless)

1/4 cup walnuts, chopped

1 Tbsp finely chopped  fresh rosemary

1/4 cup finely chopped red onion

2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

Preparation:

Place grape clusters directly on grill for about 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, in large bowl combine walnuts, rosemary, onion and vinegar.  Gingerly remove grapes from grill and place in bowl and toss gently.

Remove brie from grill, leave on plank top with relish and serve with good quality crackers or crusty bread……

Yummy comes to mind……but be careful!  Once started one could eat the entire wheel of brie and feel NO remorse….believe me…..

My next simple recipe………

Omelet with Brie

Ingredients:

3 eggs
3 slices brie cheese
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tsp of herbes de provence
Preparation:
Add oil to a skillet over high heat.Remove the rind from 3 slices of Brie.Whisk eggs for 1 minute. While moving the skillet in a circular motion, pour the eggs in continuing motion, cook until the outside edges are firm (approximately 1 minute). Then flip the omelet to finish cooking (about 30 seconds). Place the cheese slices in the center and fold the omelet. Salt and pepper to taste.
Two very simple recipes to help introduce people to cheeses they any not think of when planning a meal…..try it you will never regret it!

About lobotero

I have been a radical, labor organizer, writer, lecturer, teacher, analyst, political activist , convention delegate and I still have my sanity--who knew?
This entry was posted in Food, Observation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment